Security Officer £24000 or Prison Officer

high profile stories and issues for Prison Officers

Moderator: Chryo

valesboy
Registered Member
Registered Member

Security Officer £24000 or Prison Officer

Post by valesboy » Mon Jun 26, 2017 1:08 am

As the title says I'm a security officer doing a shift pattern of 3 days on, 4 nights on, 3 off, then 4 days on, 3 nights on and 4 off. My 4 off is a Thursday to Sunday every 3 weeks. The job is stress free mainly doing reception duties in the day (access control, issuing passes etc).
My question to you guys is would you give up this job if you was me to become a prison officer or would you stay with the security job?
The reason I applied was because the lease on the building ends next May and nobody has been told where we are moving to, causing uncertainty even though my supervisor has stated we will stay in the same city. So I seen this job and fancied it ( I worked as security in a job centre for 9 years dealing with difficult customers making threats to myself and kicking off.) Now after reading a few threads on here I'm not so sure, I've passed sjt and have my RAD on Wednesday but am now thinking of withdrawing my application.
Has anyone on here left a "cushy" job to become a prison officer and not regretted it? I really am undecided at the moment on what to do as I know I may regret it if I don't go to RAD, decisions, decisions eh!

CyberSquirrel
Executive Member
Executive Member

Re: Security Officer £24000 or Prison Officer

Post by CyberSquirrel » Mon Jun 26, 2017 1:50 am